The Southern Theater

Reasons for Moving

We are excited to announce this performance as a part of our '23-'24 Performance Partnership Programming!

Performance Dates:

Thursday, June 20 at 7:30pm (Doors at 6:30pm; House opens 7:00pm)

Friday, June 21 at 7:30pm (Doors at 6:30pm; House opens 7:00pm)

Saturday, June 22 at 7:30pm (Doors at 6:30pm; House opens 7:00pm)*

Sunday, June 23 at 4:00pm (Doors at 3:00pm; House opens 3:30pm)*

Thursday, June 27 at 7:30pm (Doors at 6:30pm; House opens 7:00pm)

Friday, June 28 at 7:30pm (Doors at 6:30pm; House opens 7:00pm)

Saturday, June 29 at 7:30pm (Doors at 6:30pm; House opens 7:00pm)

Sunday, June 30 at 4:00pm (Doors at 3:00pm, House opens 3:30pm)

* Talkback will follow performance

Performance Length: Approximately 60 minutes.

Reasons for Moving is an interdisciplinary and multicultural dance-theater project about the experiences of first, second, and third generation immigrants. Performers are: Kalala Kiwanuka-Woernle, whose mother left Uganda for the UK and later came to the US on a student visa; Mai Moua Thao, born in a refugee camp in Thailand; and Skye Reddy, whose family lost their ancestral homelands in the colonial Partition of South Asia. Their family biographies anchor an exploration of intergenerational and social negotiations of culture. Reasons for Moving frames performance as a site to engage community conversation about how cultures of origin inform our identities outside of their homelands.

Performances:

Date and Time
Thu, Jun 20, 2024 7:30 PM - Reasons for Moving
Doors 6:30PM | Show 7:30PM
Fri, Jun 21, 2024 7:30 PM - Reasons for Moving
Doors 6:30PM | Show 7:30PM
Sat, Jun 22, 2024 7:30 PM - Reasons for Moving
Doors 6:30PM | Show 7:30PM
Sun, Jun 23, 2024 4:00 PM - Reasons for Moving
Doors 3:00PM | Show 4:00PM
Thu, Jun 27, 2024 7:30 PM - Reasons for Moving
Doors 6:30PM | Show 7:30PM
Fri, Jun 28, 2024 7:30 PM - Reasons for Moving
Doors 6:30PM | Show 7:30PM
Sat, Jun 29, 2024 7:30 PM - Reasons for Moving
Doors 6:30PM | Show 7:30PM
Sun, Jun 30, 2024 4:00 PM - Reasons for Moving
Doors 3:00PM | Show 4:00PM